ChocolateKrinkles

A 20-something year old navigating her way through the foodie blogosphere with a stack of chocolate krinkles by her side

Roasted Broccoli January 10, 2012

Filed under: Vegetables,Vegetarian — chocolatekrinkles @ 10:47 pm
Tags: , ,

Being on vacation always messes with my eating habits and recently, I’ve been missing my typical meal:

Grains (brown rice), protein (salmon), and veggies (broccoli) with a Camelbak full of water

Out of everything in that pic, I’m really missing my roasted broccoli right about now. There’s just something about roasted veggies and winter that just go well together! Anyway, here’s how I usually prepare my roasted broccoli:

  1. Preheat oven at 400 degrees F
  2. Toss broccoli florets with the following: olive oil, sea salt, fresh ground pepper, garlic powder, and sugar
  3. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil before adding broccoli
  4. Bake broccoli for 15 minutes (or until browned to your likeness). Toss a little bit and then bake again for another 15 minutes.

I usually just eyeball everything but it’s usually just enough olive oil to lightly coat the broccoli (although I have, in more than one occasion, Paula Deen-ed my olive oil and added way more than I should’ve and lemme tell ya, twas delish!) and then just a dash of the salt, pepper, etc.

I guess I could make my beloved broccoli here at home but what’s the fun in that when I’ve got a mommy who makes me all sorts of delicious foods I can’t (read: am too lazy) make myself!

Anywhoo, off to make what will hopefully be a delicious treat! A couple of my fav peeps are coming home this wkd so if tis good, I’m totes sharing!

 

Leave a comment