ChocolateKrinkles

A 20-something year old navigating her way through the foodie blogosphere with a stack of chocolate krinkles by her side

Rolled Omelet December 29, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast — chocolatekrinkles @ 12:50 am

I am quite possibly one of the worst bloggers ever. But in my defense, tis been a busy how many months!!

I’ve been meaning to post this recipe so here it goes: the rolled omelet!

I’d never heard of a rolled omelet until I went to a restaurant near my ‘hood. I. fell. in. love. So naturally, afterwards, I tried to see if I could make this myself. Thank goodness for Google! I followed these two recipes: AllRecipes and Martha Stewart but made a few changes:

  • 4 eggs
  • 2/3 cup (skim) milk
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 2/3 cup cheese

As for my choice of fillings, I just happened to have spinach and mushrooms, so that’s what I went with (but I’d love to add tomatoes, ham, etc next time around!)

After preparing all the ingredients:

  1. Preheat the oven at 350 degrees
  2. Spray a 10 in x 15 in pan with olive oil and line with parchment paper. Make sure to leave a 1-inch overhang on the two shorter sides.
  3. Combine all ingredients minus the fillings (I just whisk them all together but using a blender will work too). Pour mixture into the pan.
  4. Add fillings (I like to line the whole pan with spinach and then add the mushooms!)
  5. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until edges are set. Sprinkle with cheese. Bake again for 2-4 minutes or until cheese is melted.

I like to let the omelet cool for a few minutes before rolling the omelet.

End result:

This makes 4 servings but you can change the proportions on the AllRecipes site to increase the number of servings. Eat with roasted potatoes or brown rice (I can’t help myself!). Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Rolled Omelet”

  1. […] This gives me a lot of flexibility on breakfast foods: I can make a good ole fashioned omelet, a rolled omelet (when I’m feeling fancy!), or baked eggs in ham cups. But lately, I’ve been itching to […]


Leave a Reply

